DIAA 2019 Indoor Track Championships

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

The Delaware Interscholastic Athletic Association (DIAA) hosted its Indoor Track and Field Championships at Prince George’s Sports & Learning Complex in Landover, MD on February 2nd.  Dover High School Boys took its 2nd title in five years and Padua Academy earned their 7th straight Girls title.

DOVER (DE): The Senators of Dover High School scored 66 points to capture the title.  Salesianum School was second with 56 points and Middletown High School was third with 54 points.

The Pandas of Padua Academy scored 115.50 points to run away with the win.  Smyrna High School finished second with 81.50 points and St. Georges Tech High School placed third with 61 points.

Dover High School foursome of Hezakiah Ali-Bentley, Dante Jones, Ric Johnson and Nathanael Guy won the 4×400 meter relay and Bradley Anyanwu won the shot put.

Jia Anderson sparked the Pandas winning the 55 meter hurdles, placing second in the 55 meter dash and third in the 200 meter dash.  Erin Kelleher was the top finisher in the pole vault and Chioma Njoku won the shot put.

Other individual boys winners were Matthew Hibbert of William Penn High School (55 meter dash), Raymond Nyameke of Smyrna High School (200 meter dash), Clarence Smith of Delcastle High School (400 meter dash), Shane Massey of Lake Forest High School (800 meter run), Michael Keehan of Salesianum School (1600 meter run), Andrew Avila of Charter School of Wilmington (3200 meter run), Leon Jett of Caesar Rodney (55 meter hurdles), Elijah Wilson of Middletown High School (high jump), Leroy Lynch of A.I. duPont (pole vault), Xavier Phoenix of Appoquinimink High School (long jump and triple jump).  Delcastle team of Dae-shaen Shields, Javante Biddle and Gordon Smith won the 4×200 meter relay, Charter School of Wilmington group Jack Seiffert, Andrew Avila, Aurelius Bordrick and Chris Brown won the 4×800.

Other individual girls winners were Destiny Bailey-Perkins of Caesar Rodney High School (55 meter dash, long jump and triple jump), Charlee Crawford of St. Georges Tech High School (200 and 400 meter dash), Jalissa Emmens of Delcastle High School (800 meter run), Keelin Hays of Tatnall School (1600 meter run), Tiffany Herrera of St. Mark’s High School (3200 meter run) and Abigail Kates of Archmere (high jump).  The foursome of Smyrna High School Saani Edwards, Aniyah Black, Shaneese LaMons and Lauren Summers won the 4×200 meter relay, St. Georges Tech High School group of Hailey Crawford, Kendall Jackson, Kayla Crawford and Charlee Crawford won the 4×400 meter relay and Smyrna High School foursome Sarah Larose, Raegan Sebastianelli, Destinee Ekanem and Kelly Barr won the 4×800 meter relay.


About Author

Delaware Newsline is a digital Delaware News Organization that provides local and national breaking news content to its Delaware and U.S. audience, by utilizing multiple platforms including web, social media, and video.

Leave A Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.