Phila adds Delaware to their travel restriction list of quarantine states


New Jersey is not the only state to add Delaware to it’s quarantine list for out of state travelers. Delaware now joins Philadelphia’s list of quarantine states.

Philadelphia (PA) 07/08/20 17:10: At an earlier press conference today, Pennsylvania Governor Paul Wolf added Delaware to it’s list of quarantine states where travelers must quarantine for 14 days after traveling from an infected state.

The Philadelphia Department of Public Health has updated the recently issued travel guidance for people traveling to or from high-incidence states. Because the number of states identified as high-incidence continues to grow, the guidance needed to be clarified.

The Health Department still recommends that people should not travel to any of the states listed on the guidance map.

For people coming to Philadelphia from any of those states, the Department’s primary guidance is that they should self-quarantine for 14 days. If that’s not practical, they should wear a mask at all times around non-household members, including around coworkers, and closely pay attention to their health and monitor for the development of any new onset cough, fever, or other COVID-19 symptoms. If any symptoms occur, they should stay home and seek out testing.

According to Philadelphia health officials, if you have traveled, or plan to travel, to an area where there are high amounts of COVID-19 cases, it is recommended that you stay at home for 14 days upon return to Philadelphia.

As of Wednesday afternoon, the state of Pennsylvania had not issued a travel advisory for Delaware.

On Tuesday, Governor Phil Murphy advised individuals traveling to New Jersey from additional states with significant community spread of COVID-19 to quarantine for a 14-day period from the time of last contact within the identified state.

New Jersey’s updated advisory included three additional states, Delaware, Kansas, and Oklahoma, bringing the total to 19 states.

The travel advisory applies to any person arriving from a state with a positive test rate higher than 10 per 100,000 residents or a state with a 10% or higher positivity rate over a 7-day rolling average.

“Several outbreaks across New Jersey are directly tied to travel from COVID-19 hotspots nationwide,” said Governor Murphy. “In order to responsibly continue down our road back to restart and recovery, we must remain vigilant in our collective effort to beat the virus and reduce the rate of transmission. I urge those arriving from one of these nineteen states to self-quarantine and get a COVID-19 test to prevent additional flareups across the state and ensure the health and safety of their fellow New Jerseyans.”

Travelers and those residents who are returning from impacted states should self-quarantine at their home, hotel, or other temporary lodging. Individuals should leave the place of self-quarantine only to seek medical care/treatment or to obtain food and other essential items.

Travelers and residents returning from impacted states typically will not need to check-in with public health officials, unless otherwise they are involved in contract tracing efforts or required to do so by their employer or any other federal, state or local law or order. It is expected that individuals will follow the public health advisory to self-quarantine.

“I don’t think we should be singled out, certainly not by our partners in the region that we’ve tried to help when they needed our help,” said Delaware Governor John Carney on Tuesday.

There are currently 19 states on New Jersey’s quarantine list: Alabama; Arkansas; Arizona; California; Delaware, Florida; Georgia; Iowa; Idaho; Kansas; Louisiana; Oklahoma, Mississippi; North Carolina; Nevada; South Carolina; Tennessee; Texas; and Utah.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.