Six Delaware teachers are named as finalists for teaching award

“They have already demonstrated leadership their schools by modeling superior instructional practices.” Said Secretary of Education Susan Bunting.

DOVER (DE): CONTRIBUTED BY DDE: The Delaware Department of Education has named six Delaware teachers as state finalists for the Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST), the highest recognition that K-12 STEM teachers can receive for outstanding teaching in the United States.

Finalists’ applications will now move forward to the national level for final selection of the 2021 PAEMST Awardees.

Photo by Delaware Department of Education
Photo by Delaware Department of Education

“Congratulations to these teachers for being recognized for their outstanding teaching that helps students meaningfully engage in science and math,” Secretary of Education Susan Bunting said. “They have already demonstrated leadership their schools by modeling superior instructional practices. Thus I am thrilled they are being recognized by the state and potentially by the nation.”

The goal of the PAEMST program is to exemplify the highest standards of mathematics and science teaching (including technology, engineering and computer science) in addition to honoring individual achievement.

Awardees serve as models for their colleagues, inspiration to their communities, and leaders in the improvement of mathematics and science education.

The award alternates between teachers of kindergarten through 6th grade and those teaching 7th through 12th grades. Every year each state selects up to three mathematics teachers and three science teachers as state finalists.

A national selection committee reviews state finalist applications and selects one awardee in each content area for every state. Teachers are recognized for their contributions to teaching and learning and their ability to help students make progress in mathematics and science. As part of the recognition process, awardees take part in a weeklong series of networking and professional development activities in Washington, D.C., and receive $10,000 from the National Science Foundation.

Additionally, the 2020 DE State Finalists also are awaiting final selection by the national panel.

The 2020 DE State Finalists who were announce in the fall were Sara Bushey (mathematics), Lake Forest North Elementary School, Lake Forest School District, Brandi Luloff (mathematics), Townsend Elementary School, Appoquinimink School District, Sonia Saunders (science), Brandywine Springs School, Red Clay Consolidated School District, and Leona Williams (science), Forwood Elementary School, Brandywine School District.

The White House announcement of national awardees for both 2020 and 2021 are expected within the 2021 calendar year. 

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.